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From the Office of Commissioner Tim Echols

Commissioner Tim Echols Announces Sting on “Rogue” Moversin
Georgia

ATLANTA, March 11, 2011 —Commissioner Tim Echols said today marks the first day of what he
hopes will be the first of many joint sting operations between the Georgia Public Service
Commission and the Georgia Department of Public Safety. At approximately 10:30 am. today in
the Polo Fields Subdivision in Cumming, Georgia, “Let’s Move It”, a “rogue” moving company
unregistered with the Commission began loading the household goods of a local homeowner onto
a rented cargo truck. State law and Commission rules require al household goods movers
operating in Georgia to register with the Commission, provide cargo liability insurance, medica
certificates for all drivers and to keep their rates within the confines of Commission approved
tariffs.

After stopping the truck, Department of Public Safety officers discovered two moving helpers
faced outstanding criminal warrants. Officers arrested these employees and took them to jail. They
also cited driver of the vehicle cited for failure to have a medical certificate as required by law and
cited a fourth employee for having a fraudulent Department of Driver's Services identification
card. Officers summoned the company owner to the scene and issued him a citation for failing to
register his company with the Commission as required by law. He faces a possible $1,000 fine
and/or 12 months in jail on the crimina citation. In addition, the Commission may levy up to a
$5,000 fine for civil charges.

“Under no circumstances should Georgia consumers hire movers not registered with the Georgia
Public Service Commission,” said Echols. “As the case today proves, you not only put your
worldly possession at risk by using a rogue mover, but you put your family’s safety at risk by
exposing them to the criminal e ements thumbing their nose at the law.” Echols said he is putting
all rogue household goods movers, limousine companies, and charter bus companies and non-
consensual towing companies on notice that the Public Service Commission will not tolerate the
unscrupulous exploitation of Georgia consumers. “Georgia consumes should always check the
Public Service Commission web site before hiring a household goods moving company, a
limousine company, a charter bus company or a non-consensual towing service,” said Echols.

Unfortunately for the family involved in today’s moving incident they were left to unload all of
thelr possessions themselves from the cargo truck rented by the moving company following the
arrest of al the company employees.

The specific violations include a criminal misdemeanor charge of O.C.G.A. § 46-7-3 and 46-7-39
for failure to have a Commission certificate. The company will aso face civil violations before the
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Commission under O.C.G.A. 846-2-90 and 46-2-91. The crimina charge will be in the form of a

Uniform Traffic Citation in the State Court of Forsyth County and carries a maximum fine of
$1,000 and/or 12 monthsin jail.

For more information on the Commission, visit our web site at www.psc.state.ga.us.
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