Georgia Power Company (GPC), an investor-owned electric utility, is fully regulated by the Commission. Currently GPC serves approximately 2.7 million customers in 155 of Georgia’s 159 counties. The Commission has limited regulatory authority over the 41 electric membership corporations (EMCs) and 52 municipally-owned electric systems in the state. Absent federal action, the electric industry in Georgia will remain traditionally regulated in its present form.

Some retail competition has been present in Georgia since 1973 with the passage of the Georgia Territorial Electric Service Act. This Act enables customers with manufacturing or commercial loads of 900 kW or greater a one-time choice in their electric supplier. It also provides eligible customers the opportunity to transfer from one electric supplier to another provided all parties agree. The Commission resolves territorial disputes and customer complaints involving customer choice and approves requests for transfer of retail electric service.

PSC Staff’s digital territorial maps:

Download Territorial Maps

EMC and Municipal Electric Systems
Federal Electric Matters
Investor-Owned Electric Utility
Regulation of Electric Utilities in Georgia
Qualifying Facility Information